You Need To Put Some Skin in the Game

cutting out the excuses on your dreams and goals

We all have different excuses for why we push our goals off to a later date or all together.

For me, the biggest hurdle was feeling like I didn’t have the resources at the current moment for a goal and that my time was better spent on the things that were making me money RIGHT NOW or guaranteed.

I thought I had to wait until I had everything I needed before I could fully commit and go all in on my dreams and goals.

But you know what? That was a lie and excuse. That was a limiting belief that only held me back from pursuing my passions and purpose.

Because the truth is, we don’t need money or resources before we start working on our goals and dreams. We only need to have skin in the game.

Skin in the Game is a concept and book by Nassim Taleb. The idea behind “skin in the game“ is that if you believe in something, you’ll be willing to take risks to gamble for it.

You need to invest your time, energy, money, and faith in your projects and ideas, and not wait for external resources or validation to show up before you start working on them.

You need to take inspired action and trust that the universe will provide you with what you need along the way. Do what you can with what you have right now.

You have to show up and commit anyway, even if the money isn’t there yet, even if you don’t have the nicest equipment, or even if only three people watch your videos.

Prepare as much as you can, make a decision, and trust that the money or whatever else you need will show up when you truly need it.

Stop waiting for the handout from the universe when you never put your hand up to say what you wanted and truly believed you could have it.

Having skin in the game is what actually elevates us and helps us grow and expand toward our desired goals. Even if we fail or make a mistake we learn more from that than from not taking action at all.

It makes us smarter, stronger, and more confident. It builds trust, wisdom, and power with ourselves, God (or whatever you believe in), and our audience or clients.

It also helps you learn and grow more than by staying in your comfort zone or waiting for the perfect conditions.

When I quit my engineering job to start my own business, it was scary. But it was also liberating. It forced me to learn what I needed to learn and do what I needed to do to make it work and survive.

When I did brand deals for free when I was starting out as a content creator, it was humbling. But it was also rewarding. It helped me build my portfolio and reputation and to get paid more later on.

When I paid for a course for pitching and negotiating with brands, it was expensive. But it was also worth it. It helped me to be able to get more money for brand deals, know my worth, and accelerate my growth.

Here’s a simple framework that you can use to start having skin in the game today:

  • Start with a clear vision and intention. What is your goal or dream? Why do you want it? How will it make you feel? Write it down and visualize it as vividly as possible.

  • Keep taking inspired action. What is the next step you can take right now to move closer to your goal or dream? What resources or skills do you already have or can access easily? Do something every day that aligns with your vision and intention, no matter how small or big.

  • Ignore the naysayers and doubters. Who are the people or voices that try to discourage you or make you doubt yourself? How can you avoid or minimize their influence? How can you surround yourself with positive and supportive people or sources of inspiration?

  • Nurture your faith and trust. How can you cultivate a mindset of abundance and gratitude? How can you acknowledge and celebrate your progress and achievements? How can you trust that the universe is working in your favor and will provide you with what you need when you need it?

This framework will help you overcome any objections or excuses that you may have for not taking action on your goals or dreams.

Just start going and let the rest unfold!

With Love,

Diamond